Week 2: Online presence

Thing 3: Consider your personal brand

This is one of the things I was most looking forward to as it is such a difficult one to deal with! I go round in circles about this and hopefully will get a clearer idea this week.

Now, this is the situation:
I use my own (real) name for Facebook and LinkedIn but have different user names for other platforms, such livejournal, twitter and goodreads.
The latter is mainly because my user name was already taken on livejournal and learningdutch seemed to fit the purpose for which I set this blog up.
Some of my accounts are linked with each other but I keep changing my mind about this. Can you help? What do you do? Why do you do what you do?

I like that most accounts are not linked to each other, although anyone with a bit of a brain can surely work out who I am where. On the other hand I feel that I am inconsistent and everything should link to everything else and in all directions. Would it impact on my personal/professional brand in a better way to be open about it all and connect all accounts?

Hmm. I confess that I still am reluctant to link all these accounts as I like to anonymity that comes with using twitter, goodreads and a blog without my real name. At the same time I feel that I should link everything together, but as I mainly use LinkedIn and Facebook for work I don’t. It makes me feel more free to say what I think but I never write anything that I wouldn’t want to be linked to me anyway (real name or not). There’s always screen shots! I sound right paranoid now!
This all seems very convaluted now that I read it back but hey, there you go. I’m not sure how else to phrase it.

Of course one of downsides of anonymity can be something like this:

I have since contacted the blogger in question and told him that I’m a girl but hey, how could he have know?! I guess the romantic novel type of profile picture might have given it away… but maybe not. It’s high art after all! No, honestly, I think if I care that people know stuff about me I need to be a bit better with my sharing or care less. Difficult one!

Here are some links on the topic of online presence that I have read lately:
Manage your brand as a librarian
How to manage your personal brand (for free) - there are also some good links in this post, so I won’t list them again here
Understanding and creating your personal brand - mix & match sounds good to me but confusing also
Surprise – a Personal Brand is a By-product! - what if X ends up being a mix of everything? help!
How to Maintain Your Personal Brand as a Corporate Employee

On beginning and shedding anonymity - Not sure I am brave enough (yet?).

Since reading those articles I have actually re-done some of my LinkedIn profile and made it more private. Especially after reading this article from the NY Times.

What now? (I think) I need help. And I need to go and read the official cpd23 post on this now. Will update you later.

About Carolin Schneider

Gas station attendant of the mind (librarian), learner, reader, googler, traveller, web 2.0er, library camper. My personal views.
This entry was posted in cpd23 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 2: Online presence

  1. Bobbi Newman says:

    There is nothing wrong with not wanting to tie all of your online presences together under one name and brand linked to professional involvement. Do what feels comfortable to you. I was just “librarianbyday” for a long time before I started using my real name.

Leave a Reply

