Code Year – lesson 4

Another day of coding lessons. I could not concentrate for more than three lessons earlier this week, and it’s a lot to take in. Even today I didn’t get very far (my excuse is: it was early and I had to go to work too) and I feel it’s boring to share my notes with you, so be relieved that I will just write them in an old-fashioned notebook.

How do you go about motivating yourself when you are trying to learn something because you feel you should but have no direct use for it (yet?). How will you use JavaScript in your working life? Please share your motivations and ideas with me, as I find it difficult to see an application in my work at the moment but would love to think that there is one. Thanks! :)

About Carolin Schneider

Gas station attendant of the mind (librarian), learner, reader, googler, traveller, web 2.0er, library camper. My personal views.
This entry was posted in other and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Code Year – lesson 4

  1. radoveden says:

    Well, I’m in a totally other position, because I did programming before. So this first week was a bit fun for me. Nevertheless I had the feeling this course has a style learning curve for beginners. In the first week all basics are already handled. I should say: try to do it in your pace, take as much time as you want and as you need. You are learning the core of computer science here and that is interesting. I hope this can motivate you enough for the time being.
    In case you are stuck, it can be worthwhile to take a look at other courses like the one of w3schools (http://www.w3schools.com/js/). Another approach or teaching method can clear things out in our mind.

    • bumsonseats says:

      Thanks for the encouragement and the link! I hope to get something done tomorrow morning (wrong browser to do it during tea breaks at work, which normally works quite well for me and learning) because I don’t want to fall behind too much.

  2. Susie Dunn says:

    I am so stuck on lesson 5 and for the life of me I don’t know what I’m doing incorrectly. I can sometimes get parts to work in the scratchpad but that’s it! Lucky you for doing well and understanding it. I’m glad there is someone blogging about this. I’m determined to stick with it.

Leave a Reply

