Week 7: Librarianship training options

Thing 11: Mentoring

Having thought about mentoring now I realise that I am actually quite lucky.

In previous posts I have been mentored by a few people, some being formal mentors, other informal ones. I feel that so far I have benefited more from informal mentoring, as it’s been on a more personal level and I felt that I could open up more. Unfortunately I haven’t been very good at keeping in touch and have lost most of those former connections. I also moved from an academic to a public library environment and many people are not comfortable in advising you when they work in a different sector. Not sure why, as librarians are librarians, in the end.

Mentors have provided me with advice about where to go next in my career and search for a professional post, explained the inside politics of a new work place, provided professional opportunities, and have listened to my concerns and ideas. Sometimes they have even been in the position to take my ideas on board.

I now have (at least) two informal mentors in my workplace. One of them wants me to succeed because she is my friend, the other can see potential in me. I know that often I have “controversial” views (within my organisation), so they both suffer that but generally my friend-mentor is fine with them and my other mentor listens and reigns me in a little if necessary. Both approaches have their place and I’m sure I’ve been saved embarrassment and trouble in the past (thanks!). I wouldn’t necessarily see my line manager as a mentor as providing me with opportunities and develop me is a line manager’s job but sometimes this feels like a mentoring relationship too.

Further I see some people on twitter as mentors of mine. They provide me with ideas, a sounding board, they calm me down and encourage me and also serve a role models. Thanks to you too!

Thanks also for the tips in the latest CPD23 post on how to approach someone about mentoring. I will have a think about that and see if I can enter into a formal mentoring relationship.

I also enjoyed reading Nicole’s post on mentoring over at the Pumped Librarian blog.

About Carolin

Gas station attendant of the mind (librarian), learner, reader, googler, traveller, library camper. My personal views.
This entry was posted in cpd23 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

