Week 12: Presenting information

As Thing 17 is delayed on to Thing 18! But this post will have to be a very quick one, as I have visits to prepare and weeding to get on with.

Jing/screen capture/podcasts

Again Jing is something that needs downloading but I am very happy that an alternative has been provided for those of us who can’t download stuff in work. Thanks!

I have used Wink (see http://www.debugmode.com/wink/) in the past (which needs downloading and that’s the reason we’re not using it in work) and really liked it. I gather it’s similar to Jing.

I want to give http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/ a go when I get chance as I might be able to finish what I started with Wink: make instructional videos for our website, on how to use resources etc. It might take a lot of work to start with but once the videos are up there I’d be really happy. It’d be so much easier to refer people to those in the first instance, rather than set up individual learningh sessions (which people often shy away from, I have found).

I am following some podcasts, especially for language learning and news. I have no experience with making my own really, apart from a single city tour that stands on its own for now (I guess that doesn’t really count as a podcast though).

By the way: WordPress doesn’t seem to like my links today, that’s why I’m spelling them out. In case you were wondering (which you probably weren’t).

About Carolin

Gas station attendant of the mind (librarian), learner, reader, googler, traveller, library camper. My personal views.
This entry was posted in cpd23 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

