Diigo

Now that I have finished the CPD23 programme it became time to play with Diigo, which is a bookmarking service that is used a lot in e-learning and has popped up quite a few times in things I’ve read lately.

I haven’t looked my delicious bookmarks in a while, partly because of the mess they might be in (both mine and delicious’s fault), so tidying them and trying a new platform go together quite well.

After ages spent trying to log into delicious (and what I thought my username was was my username!) it was easy to import my delicious bookmarks into Diigo. I  also managed to get the Diigolet (booksmark) into my Favourites bar as I can’t download the Diigo toolbar at work.

From first impressions I like Diigo better than delicious because there’s more collaboration possible and the search is better (full text!). It also looks sleek. Diigo has made a handy little list of why they might be better too but that’s obviously biased. There’s another good breakdown here.

I am not being very social on diigo at the moment as most of my links are private and I have to have a weed through first. I haven’t worked out how to make all of them public in one smooth move – should have done that when they were still in delicious. Ah well. It’ll be interesting to see what I’ve actually saved. And sooo useful in the future!

This entry was posted in cpd23 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

