What next? CILIP & I

This afternoon I got an email to inform me that my CILIP membership renewal has been approved. I had been absent for a few years, so I’ll have to get used to being a member of a professional organisation again.

Having been welcomed back via twitter already (without having realised that I had that email waiting for me) was lovely and made me feel special and looked after. Thanks, @johnrdolan. You made me smile 🙂

What happens next? Ideally, CILIP will send me an induction pack that guides me through getting involved and how to get the best out of my membership; and the email promised that I’d get something in the post, so there’s hope. And then my local branch and the two special interest groups I chose would contact and welcome me as well. Those are Public Libraries and Information Services, by the way.

I realise I’m not an easy customer to please but please guide me. (I also like to be entertained but can make my own entertainment if needed.)

Thanks to @CILIPinfo, by the way, who are always lovely and quick when I have a question!

About Carolin

Gas station attendant of the mind (librarian), learner, reader, googler, traveller, library camper. My personal views.
This entry was posted in professional involvement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What next? CILIP & I

  1. bumsonseats says:

    Found out via twitter (thanks @joeyanne) that branch and groups won’t be able to send me a welcome as they are not notified when a new member joins (data protection?). I suggest to make it an opt-in thing that your groups can contact you when you join.
    Got some more welcomes on twitter, so that’s nice 🙂

  2. Hello again,

    Thank you for the kind words about @CILIPinfo.

    Richard Hawkins
    CILIP

Leave a Reply

