Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector (PTLLS)

My holiday reads will include Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector: 5th Edition, after toying with the idea of signing up to that course for a while. It is a twelve week course at the local college and some of my public library colleagues have completed it already. Why that one?

  • for CPD;
  • to branch out and “see more than libraryland”;
  • to be able to better tailor and run learning sessions, inductions, etc., building on past training experience.

Despite one of my original reasons being “a challenge” I am a little bit concerned that I would be taking on too much if I do the course this semester. I also need to find out how I can get the most out of the course for my new role and if it’s relevant enough (it’s a few hundred £s after all). Some colleagues have re-assured me that the course “won’t be too involved”, others have quoted time commitments of nine hours per week.

Note added on 3 September: After reading the first half of the book mentioned above I have decided to stick with the book and delay the course. There might be a  course that my new employer can recommend that will be more suitable to the HE environment and my new role.

About Carolin

Gas station attendant of the mind (librarian), learner, reader, googler, traveller, library camper. My personal views.
This entry was posted in training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector (PTLLS)

  1. J. K. Barlow says:

    Oh, I’m doing this too, and rather apprehensive! Perhaps we can compare notes!

  2. Carolin says:

    It’ll be very interesting to read about your experience. I chickened out this time 😉

  3. Vikki A says:

    hi, just been offered to do this course through St Johns Ambulance and was wondering if you ever did this?

    • Carolin says:

      Hi Vikki,
      I never did the PTLLS in the end (yet, anyway) as it didn’t fit in with my job but I know a few people who have. I know two people who did it though, @ian_nipper and @scotthibberson (Scott also taught it at some point), so it might be good to get in touch with them on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

