Thing 23 is here again

I missed most of CPD23 this year as I was busy with other things and because I didn’t want to repeat things I had done before without learning from them (again). This year’s Thing 23 is one I want to think about though (last year’s post is here), especially as it fits in well with my chartership process. For that I also need to do a SWOT analysis and set SMART goals. I have been lucky that during most of career employers have offered an annual review scheme and I have always had targets that I worked towards. I guess that’s pretty much SWOT/SMART. I think that it gets harder to set new goals though once you have been in a post for a while, so if your employer can help by making it a structured process and support you that way that’s really good.

I have only started my current job recently, so I have a few things to learn. In previous posts I have often found new goals for myself, not always work-related  (I guess learning Dutch was work-related though when working for Europe Direct and travelling to Brussels fairly regularly), if there wasn’t anything major that I needed improving on.

Currently I am trying to get into the habit of reflective writing. People make it sound difficult but after talking to our language learning adviser a few days ago I feel that I am already doing the reflective work but am not writing it down.

I also need to work on my chartership PPDP this week but need to find an hour or two where I’m not interrupted. I mostly have lunch at my desk at the moment, which isn’t especially quiet and of course I get interrupted even if I’m not doing work stuff but having a break (which is fine and if I minded I could of course go away and eat my lunch elsewhere – the whole campus has wifi). It might have to wait until the weekend as I can’t concentrate well after coming home from work and end up reading a book or watching tv to relax.

About Carolin

Gas station attendant of the mind (librarian), learner, reader, googler, traveller, library camper. My personal views.
This entry was posted in chartership, cpd23 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

