Public speaking

This morning I worked on finalising a speech I am giving on Thursday, about making friends when moving to a new city. This sounded like an easy task when I agreed to doing this.

Here’s the twist: it’s a speech in German. And although German is my native language I have never delivered a formal speech in German, not since giving short talks in school on topics like the rain forest and wanting to move to Costa Rica.

I feel quite excited about having been asked to take part in a mock conference and deliver a speech to a group of interpreting students, but I am also quite nervous. Being around English speakers all day long can make me feel like my German is quite rusty at times, and switching quickly between languages when I have concentrated on one of them for a while (a couple of hours, for example) it takes me a few sentences to switch over properly. You’d think it’d be the other way around…

But – I have lived my professional life in the UK so far and never had to be “professional” and “grown up” in German. So I haven’t necessarily developed the register or behaviours that you’d expect – or so I think.

It’ll be interesting to see how it goes… scarily I may get feedback on my public speaking as well. I’ll try not to ramble…

About Carolin

Gas station attendant of the mind (librarian), learner, reader, googler, traveller, library camper. My personal views.
This entry was posted in languages and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

